SURREY V WARWICKSHIRE at Lord's (Royal London One-Day Cup Final), 17 SEPTEMBER 2016

Surrey's record in one-day finals at Lord's reads as follows:

Year Competition Opponent Result
1965 Gillette Cup Yorkshire Lost
1974 Benson and Hedges Cup Leicestershire Won
1979 Benson and Hedges Cup Essex Lost
1980 Gillette Cup Middlesex Lost
1981 Benson and Hedges Cup Somerset Lost
1982 National Westminster Bank Trophy Warwickshire Won
1991 National Westminster Bank Trophy Hampshire Lost
1997 Benson and Hedges Cup Kent Won
2001 Benson and Hedges Cup Gloucestershire Won
2011 Clydesdale Bank 40 Somerset Won
2015 Royal London One-Day Cup Gloucestershire Lost

Since winning the 40-over final in 2010, Warwickshire have finished runners-up in 2012, and, following the combined expansion to 50 overs and re-naming, runners-up again in 2014. Basically, if it's even even-numbered year, keep an eye out for the Bears in white ball cricket. Their only Twenty20 title came two years ago - again, in an even-numbered year. But even though Warwickshire go into tomorrow's Royal London final refreshed from having the week off in the County Championship, they'll have the threat of relegation on their minds.

In this summer's Royal London, though, Sam Hain (528 runs at 66.00) and Jonathan Trott (433 at an average of 72.16) have led the way with the bat for the Bears, whose line-up includes a third batsmen with a List A career average over forty - Ian Bell. Surrey, on the other hand, only have one - Kumar Sangakkara. Even if Warwickshire's big artillery fail to hit their target, Tim Ambrose, William Porterfield, Rikki Clarke, Chris Woakes and, if he plays, Laurie Evans, are all more than capable of making match-winning contributions with the willow.

Warwickshire's weakness, if indeed they have one, is their reliance on overseas off-spinner Jeetan Patel (20 Royal London wickets at 20.95 runs apiece this term) and Clarke's capacity for keeping things quiet. Somerset found Oliver Hannon-Dalby difficult to get away in the semi-final, but across this year's one-day competition the former Yorkshire seamer has conceded 5.89 runs per over. The key man, therefore, could well be Woakes, who has been limited to just one appearance in this year's Royal London. The 27-year-old all-rounder, who now looks so at home on the international stage, took 14 ODI wickets for England this summer at 28.57 runs apiece, and with an economy rate of 5.10.

Surrey v Warwickshire - List A Records Sheet

Chris Wright (98) has a 100th one-day career wicket in his sights.

Zafar Ansari, Mark Footitt, Ravi Rampaul and Jason Roy have been added to the eleven that beat Yorkshire in the semi-finals to make up Surrey's 15-man squad for the Lord's showpiece.

Yorkshire 28 Aug 2016 RLC Won By 19 Runs Headingley 255-7 (50) 236 (48.5)
Northamptonshire 18 Aug 2016 RLC Won By 1 Wicket Northampton 279-9 (50) 276 (49)
Middlesex 2 Aug 2016 RLC Won By 5 Wickets Lord's 105-5 (15.2) 101-8 (16)
Glamorgan 1 Aug 2016 RLC No Result The Oval 157-1 (19) -
Gloucestershire 27 Jul 2016 RLC Won By 165 Runs The Oval 323-8 (50) 158 (33.2)

Clearly, given the 10.30am start, the toss is important at this stage of the season. For the record, ten of the captains winning the toss prior to the last 13 Lord's finals have elected to bowl first. Twelve months ago, Gareth Batty followed suit but said, immediately following his side's six-run defeat that, in hindsight, he should have opted to bat. In 1982, however, it was Roger Knight's decision to stick Warwickshire that meant the die was cast before a ball was even bowled. Bears with a long memory will not only want revenge for that result, but also for the 2003 Twenty20 Cup final, in which Warwickshire were humiliated by the Oval outfit. With Warwickshire batting all the way down to number eight, Surrey will either have to set the Bears a testing target or do a job on them with the ball. No team has chased down more than 326 to win a List A game at Lord's. India hold that record, which was set in 2002; while the highest successful chase in a county match is 322, achieved by Warwickshire, against Sussex, in the 1993 NatWest Trophy final. Prediction - the head says Warwickshire, just, the heart says Surrey, but I can easily see it all coming down to who bowls first.

W.Porterfield, S.Hain, J.Trott, I.Bell (capt), T.Ambrose (wk), L.Evans, R.Clarke, C.Woakes, J.Patel, C.Wright and O.Hannon-Dalby.

David Millns and Tim Robinson. (Third umpire - Rob Bailey.).

12 Aug 2014 RLC Lost By 111 Runs Edgbaston Warws Bat 153 (26.3) 218-2 (33)
17 Aug 2011 NL Won By 130 Runs Edgbaston Surrey Bat 282-7 (40) 152 (29)
24 Jul 2011 NL Won By 3 Wickets Guildford Warws Bat 227-7 (38.5) 225-8 (40)
16 Sep 2009 NL Lost By 9 Wickets The Oval Surrey Bat 200-8 (40) 201-1 (35)
25 Aug 2008 NL Won By 21 Runs Edgbaston Surrey Bat 238-5 (40) 217 (38.4)
14 Sep 2005 NL Lost By 68 Runs Edgbaston Warws Bat 224 (40.3) 292-8 (45)
5 Jun 2005 NL Lost By 49 Runs Whitgift Sch Warws Bat 260 (41.2) 309-8 (45)
25 Jul 2004 NL Won By 90 Runs Guildford Surrey Bat 315-8 (45) 225 (34.3)
9 May 2004 NL Lost By 45 Runs Edgbaston Warws Bat 195 (41) 240 (45)
13 Jul 2003 NL Lost By 6 Wickets Edgbaston Surrey Bat 242-9 (45) 244-4 (42.1)
4 May 2003 NL Won By 25 Runs The Oval Surrey Bat 281-8 (45) 256 (43.1)
30 Aug 2001 NL Won By 123 Runs Whitgift Sch Surrey Bat 231 (45) 108 (29.5)
29 Jul 2001 NL Lost By 3 Wickets Edgbaston Warws Field 136 (42.2) 137-7 (37.3)
9 Aug 2000 NL Won By 103 Runs Whitgift Sch Surrey Bat 211-9 (45) 108 (30)
23 Jun 2000 NL Won By 7 Wickets Edgbaston Warws Bat 166-3 (41.1) 162-7 (45)
26 Apr 1998 NL Lost By 8 Wickets The Oval Warws Field 81-5 (10) 82-2 (9.1)
6 Jul 1997 NL Lost By 48 Runs Edgbaston Surrey Field 183-9 (40) 231-6 (40)
1 Sep 1996 NL Won By 2 Wickets The Oval Warws Bat 186-8 (36.4) 185 (39.4)
10 Jul 1996 NWT Won By 88 Runs Edgbaston Warws Field 291-7 (60) 203 (51.3)
7 May 1995 NL Won By 47 Runs Edgbaston Surrey Bat 192-5 (39) 145 (35)