William Hill Sports


Surrey, who haven't lost a game in this season's Yorkshire Bank 40, take on Lancashire, who haven't won one. However, the absence of Zafar Ansari and Graeme Smith from the South Londoners' line-up must tip the balance back towards the Lightning, who have won eight of the last 12 List A matches held at Old Trafford against Surrey; ignoring the no result in 2002.

In last year's CB40, Lancashire's batting revolved around Karl Brown, Steven Croft and Stephen Moore. The latter top scored against Durham the other day, while Brown made a handy 32. With the ball, last term, Glen Chapple, who is rested, and Gary Keedy, who now lines up against his old county, exerted control while Ajmal Shahzad, who is now at Notts, was the chief partnership breaker. Judging by the early days of this summer's competition the key man in the Lightning's attack seems 27-year-old slow left-armer, Stephen Parry.

Click here for the Surrey v Lancashire List A Records sheet as at the start of the 2013 season.

Surrey's Jon Lewis is set to make his 225th appearance in List A limited-overs cricket. Should Jason Roy repeat what he did against Durham, he will glide past 1,000 one-day career runs. He currently has 936.

Surprisingly, given it's a one-dayer and his fitness is believed to be an issue, Chris Tremlett has been named in the squad for Old Trafford. So, if he doesn't play, I can only assume he was omitted from the last two championship matches due to his disappointing form. Zafar Ansari, who is rapidly becoming such a crucial limited-overs option for Surrey, misses the game because of "university commitments"; and, of course, Graeme Smith - another who starred in the South Londoners' victory over Hampshire - is recovering from the left ankle operation he had on May 16th.

Durham 9 May 2013 NL No Result The Oval 216 (37.3) -
Hampshire 6 May 2013 NL Won By 9 Wickets The Oval 229-1 (31.2) 228 (40)
Somerset 27 Aug 2012 NL No Result Taunton 29-1 (4.3) -
Glamorgan 21 Aug 2012 NL Won By 93 Runs The Oval 219-9 (40) 126 (26.3)
Hampshire 19 Aug 2012 NL Lost By 4 Wickets Rose Bowl 175-9 (40) 179-6 (38.1)

As you probably worked out from the intro, I'm leaning towards a Lancashire win. Don't get me wrong, the Lightning are beatable, but Surrey must be at a low ebb following today's championship defeat at Trent Bridge. With eleven days to reflect on it before their next four-day game gets underway, the Oval outfit need use this game and next week's trip to Scotland, meaningfully, to get back to winning ways.

S Moore, A Prince, S Croft, K Brown, S Katich (capt), J Clark, W White, G Cross (wk), S Parry, K Hogg and S Kerrigan.

Michael Gough and Graham Lloyd.

23 May 2010 NL Won By 8 Wickets Old Trafford Lancashire Bat 166-2 (23.5) 165 (39.3)
25 Apr 2010 NL Won By 2 Wickets Whitgift School Surrey Field 285-8 (38.5) 290-6 (40)
22 Jul 2009 NL Lost By 8 Runs Old Trafford Lancashire Bat 213-6 (40) 221-7 (40)
30 Jul 2005 T20 Lost By 22 Runs The Oval Lancashire Bat 195-7 (20) 217-4 (20)
31 Aug 2004 NL Lost By 48 Runs Old Trafford Lancashire Bat 196 (40.2) 244-9 (45)
15 Aug 2004 NL Lost By 8 Wickets Whitgift School Lancashire Field 235-8 (45) 238-2 (38.1)
7 Aug 2004 T20 Won By 1 Run Edgbaston Surrey Bat 133 (20) 132-8 (20)
30 Jun 2002 NL No Result Old Trafford Surrey Bat 152-3 (31) -
12 May 2002 NL Won By 6 Wickets The Oval Lancashire Bat 69-4 (11.5) 68 (20.4)
26 Jul 2000 NWT Lost By 8 Wickets The Oval Surrey Bat 210-7 (50) 214-2 (36)
17 Jun 1998 NL Lost By 4 Wickets Old Trafford Surrey Bat 182-6 (39) 135-6 (21.3)
27-28 May 1998 B&H Won By 5 Wickets The Oval Surrey Field 206-5 (45.4) 203 (49.4)
14 Sep 1997 NL Won By 5 Wickets The Oval Surrey Field 210-5 (37.1) 206-8 (40)
11 Aug 1996 NL Won (Scoring Rate) Old Trafford Surrey Bat 202-7 (40) 128 (31.3)
3 Sep 1995 NL Lost By 6 Wickets The Oval Surrey Bat 189-9 (40) 190-4 (37.3)